Cusco – Parque de la Papa

Date:Oct. 26, 2013/Time: 10:00/Location: Cusco & Parque De La Papa

DSCF1531

During my first day in Cusco we visited the ruins of Sacsahuman, Puca Pucara, and Tambomachy on the outskirts of the city. Our tour guide, Jay Jay, had incredible knowledge about these ruins and the Inca culture – especially their rituals. I had an amazing time looking at the stone work of these ruins and learning that we still do not know how the Incas had built these without advance technology. At the end of our tour we had the chance to stand on a cliff that overlooked the city of Cusco. The city appeared to be in sort of a narrow valley with mountains bordering it on all sides. Very inclosed but still almost peaceful in it’s entirety. It was a picturesque moment to see everything from the red-roof tile houses to the huge cathedrals. Looking at it from where I stood, I could almost imagine myself perhaps living there. That idea quickly disappeared in my mind because I started to notice that my hands were slowly becoming numb. It was bitterly cold and I didn’t bring any gloves to wear, instead I just shoved them into the pockets of my jacket. As I walked back to the bus with my group, I continued to look at the ruins and see the small architectural details that were made using simple tools. This place held a lot of mystery and fascination and I was so happy to learn more about the Incas.

DSCF1698

On our last day in Cusco we traveled farther into the mountains to Parque de la Papa which is a potato park. This was the highest place in altitude that we visited and the drive up there revealed some really beautiful landscapes. We had a fantastic time learning about the different types potatoes they grow there and how they use them in their daily meals. I never did a real soundscape while at this amazing place but looking out at the village and the surrounding mountains was incredible to see. Standing there and tuning out any conversation my friends were having made it feel like I was there for a very long time. Instead of hearing voices I heard cows grunting and mooing near by, villagers talking in Quechua, or the wind picking up as it rushing past me. The view was spectacular, it almost seemed as if the potato season was the only indication that time was passing here. There weren’t any blaring lights or noises that a usual city would make, instead it was very quiet and everything was done slowly here. I’m so glad we got to come here and learn about the culture but also see such amazing views.

Leave a Reply

